Ondo 2024: Beg, reach out to aggrieved aspirants for support

From Fred Itua, Abuja

Chieftain of the All Progressives Congress, Ayirimi Emami, has appealed to Ondo State Governor and winner of the party ticket in last weekend governorship primary, Lucky Aiyedatiwa, to reach out to all the aggrieved aspirants who contested with him aahead of November off-season election.

In the pprimaries onducted by a team, led by Kogi State Governor, Usman Ododo, his colleague, Governor Aiyedatiwa was declared winner, having polled 48, 569 in the direct primaries’ exercise to defeat all the other 15 aspirants.

Some of the aspirants have since kicked against the outcome of the election, alleging that the Governor Ododo team did not follow the party guidelines.

While congratulating Governor Aiyedatiwa, the APC chieftain who described his victory at the primaries as a testament of his impactful governance for the few months he has taken over as governor of Ondo state, urged him to broker peace with the aggrieved aspirants, accomodate them in the course of his campaigns for the overall interest of the APC and development of the oil producing state.

He maintained that Governor Aiyedatiwa’s stance should be a no victor, no vanquished towards the other aspirants on the outcome of the primaries.

Emami said the cooperation of other aspirants would make the Party victory seamless and accelerate the developmental strides being witnessed in the state.

He equally appealed to other aspirants that contested the APC governorship primary to sheathe their sword and support the candidacy of Governor Aiyedatiwa.

Some of the contenders for the ticket won by Governor Aiyedatiwa included
senator representing Ondo South Senatorial District, Jimoh Ibrahim; Olusola Oke SAN, former President of Nigerian Medical Association, Prof. Francis Faduyile, a mechanical engineer, Dr Funmilayo Waheed-Adekojo and the National Vice Chairman of the APC (South APC (South West), Isaac Kekemeke.

Others were Dr Soji Ehinlanwo, Akinfolarin Samuel, Okunjimi Odimayo, Adewale Akinterinwa, Olugbenga Edema and Brig. Gen. Ohunyeye Olamide (retd), Morayo Lebi, Oladiran Iyatan and Engnr. Ifeoluwa Oyedele.


The post Ondo 2024: Beg, reach out to aggrieved aspirants for support first appeared on Nigeria Newspapers Online.