Breaking News: Majority Leader Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu Resigns, Major Shake-Up Expected In Parliament

Reports indicate that Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the current Deputy Majority Leader, is set to assume the role of Majority Leader.

The Majority Caucus is set to convene an urgent meeting at the Jubilee House this evening, where President Akufo-Addo and top NPP officials will engage with lawmakers to address the impending changes in the parliamentary hierarchy. According to sources, Frank Annoh Dompreh is scheduled to be promoted to Deputy Majority Leader, while Habib Iddrisu is poised to ascend to the position of Majority Chief Whip alongside other notable appointments within the caucus.

Amid speculations and rumors surrounding the leadership transition, tensions within the Majority Caucus have surfaced, with conflicting opinions on the decision to replace Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu. Some MPs advocate for maintaining the experienced leader, while others advocate for the infusion of new leadership dynamics to bolster the caucus moving forward.