Todays Latest

‘Zone of Interest’ Named Best Picture 2023 Toronto Film Critics Association – The Hollywood Reporter

The Toronto Film Critics Association has named The Zone of Interest as its pick for the best picture of the year.

All of Us Strangers and Killers of the Flower Moon were runner-ups in the voting, which took place on Sunday. Jonathan Glazer also picked up the best director trophy for Zone of Interest, the harrowing Holocaust drama.

Runners-ups were  Martin Scorsese for Killers of the Flower Moon, followed by Justine Triet with Anatomy of a Fall, the crime thriller. Glazer’s drama about the comfortable lives of an Auschwitz commandant’s family seized the spotlight in Cannes, where it won the Grand Prix and FIPRESCI prize, and was then chosen by BAFTA to represent the U.K. in the category formerly known as best foreign language film at the Oscars.

Toronto critics also gave the best lead performance awards to Sandra Huller for Anatomy of a Fall and Lily Gladstone for Killers of the Flower Moon. The best supporting performance awards went to Ryan Gosling for Barbie and Da’Vine Joy Randolph for her stand-out role in The Holdovers.

Last year, Charlotte Wells’ father-and-child drama Aftersun dominated the Toronto Film Critics Association Awards by earning four trophies, including best picture and best director.

A full list of winners follows:

Best Picture: The Zone of Interest

Runners Up: All of Us Strangers, Killers of the Flower Moon

Best Director: Jonathan Glazer, The Zone of Interest; Runners Up: Martin Scorsese, Killers of the Flower Moon, Justine Triet, Anatomy of a Fall

Outstanding Lead Performance: Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon, Sandra Hüller, Anatomy of a Fall 

Outstanding Support Performance: Ryan Gosling, Barbie, Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers 

Breakthrough Performance: Teyana Taylor, A Thousand and One 

Outstanding Performance in a Canadian Film: Glenn Howerton, BlackBerry

Best Original Screenplay: Noah Baumbach, Greta Gerwig, Barbie

Best Adaptated Screenplay: Killers of the Flower Moon – Eric Roth, Martin Scorsese

Best Animated Feature: Robot Dreams 

Allan King Documentary Award: 20 Days in Mariupol 

Best International Feature: Fallen Leaves 

Best First Feature: Rye Lane