NFF President commends Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie, Super Falcons

CAF Awards: NFF President commends Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie, Super Falcons

Victor Osimhen, Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie

Published By: Paul Dada

President of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), Ibrahim Gusau, has commended Victor Osimhen, Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie and the Super Falcons for scooping the major CAF 2023 awards in Morocco.

A statement by Ademola Olajire, Director of Communications at the NFF on Monday, said Gusau was a very happy, as Nigeria swept important honours at this year’s CAF Football Awards held in Marrakech, Morocco.

He said  that the NFF boss  dedicated the award to all women football teams on the African continent.

Gusau said  Nnadozie, who shone brightly at the FIFA World Cup finals in  this  was the undoubted winner of the honour of Goalkeeper of the Year (Women).

The Paris FC of France safe hands made a moving speech: “To all the young girls growing up in Africa, dreaming of becoming a footballer one day, believe me dreams do come true.

“My dad didn’t want me to play football but I’m sure he’s gonna see this and be happy.

“So, keep dreaming, keep working and I believe that one day you’ll get to this stage,” she said.

After Asisat Oshoala won a record-extending sixth award as Player of the Year (Women), the auditorium went silent as it was time to present the men’s version.

Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen  Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi and Egypt’s Mohamed Salah were the final three.

Osimhen was crowned, becoming the first Nigerian player in 24 years to take the gong.

  • Victor Osimhen, Asisat Oshoala win Africa Players of the Year Award
  • 2023 CAF player award: Osimhen faces Salah, Hakimi hurdle
  • Osimhen to battle Salah, Hakimi for CAF Men’s Player of the Year award

The last person was Nwankwo Kanu, back in 1999. Kanu also won in 1996, after Rashidi Yekini in 1993 and Emmanuel Amuneke in 1994.

Victor Ikpeba took the crown in 1997.

The statement quoted Gusau as saying that he was very excited, adding that it had been hugely rewarding for Nigeria’s football and for the country as a whole.

“I congratulate Osimhen, Oshoala and Nnadozie, and I congratulate the Super Falcons as a team for bringing us this honour.

“My charge would be that they all keep doing what they know how to do best, keep improving and keep winning.

“The sky will be the beginning for them,” he said.

Osimhen became the first player in the history of the African Football Awards to have been crowned Player of the Year (Men) after having pocketed the Young Player of the Year (Men) in an earlier year.

Only last Monday, the 24-year-old was crowned the 2022/2023 Player of the Year in Italy’s Serie A, after having won the Young Player of the Year in the same league in the 2021/2022 season.


The post NFF President commends Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie, Super Falcons first appeared on Nigeria Newspapers Online.