EU announces new immigration rules for Third-country nationals 

The European Union (EU) has updated its immigration rules for country nationals which indicates that they must legally and continuously reside in an EU member state for at least five years, and this status must coexist with national long-term resident schemes.

Third-country nations are countries or territories that are not a member of the European Union or those whose citizens do not enjoy the European Union’s right to free movement. Nigeria is an example of a Third-country nation.

This directive was given by EU member states, during a meeting of the Council’s permanent representatives committee, where they established their negotiating mandate for revising the EU long-term resident’s directive.