BRICS snubs Nigeria, invites Egypt, Ethiopia, UAE, Saudi as new members

Leaders of the BRICS group of developing nations ignored Nigeria as they invited Saudi Arabia, Iran, Ethiopia, Egypt, Argentina and the United Arab Emirates to join.

The invitation is in line with a move aimed at growing the clout of a bloc that has pledged to champion the “Global South”.

Expansion could also pave the way for dozens of interested countries to seek admission to BRICS – currently Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa – at a time when geopolitical polarisation is spurring efforts by Beijing and Moscow to forge it into a viable counterweight to the West.